In the News

Press Releases

Mexico Announces Roster for 5/31 Nigeria Match

Javier “Chicharito” Hernández, Andres Guardado and Giovani Dos Santos highlight Mexico roster

NEW YORK (Monday, May 20, 2013) – Mexico Head Coach Jose Manuel “Chepo” de la Torre announced the 23-man roster for Mexico’s U.S. Tour match against the current Africa Cup of Nations champion, Nigeria, on Friday, May 31 (9:00 p.m. ET) at Reliant Stadium in Houston, TX. The match, presented by Allstate, is Mexico’s last major test before World Cup qualifying and FIFA Confederations Cup in June.

El Tricolor’s list includes several international standouts, including heralded Manchester United star forward Javier “Chicharito” Hernández, Valencia (Spain) midfielder Andres Guardado, Mallorca (Spain) midfielder Giovani Dos Santos and Ajaccio (France) goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa.

The roster also features experienced players from Liga MX with top-flight European experience, such as Tigres UANL defender Carlos Salcido and Cruz Azul goalkeeper Jesús Corona.

Tickets for the highly anticipated match in Houston are available via, by calling 1-800-745-3000 and at all Houston-area Ticketmaster locations, including all Houston-area Fiesta stores. The Federación Mexicana de Fútbol invites fans to use their Visa cards. Fans can also call 832-667-2390  for information on group discounts and suite availability. 

Mexico and Nigeria have met three times with a 1-0-2 record in favor of Mexico. The two teams last met in October of 2007 in an international friendly, with the match ending in a 2-2 tie at the Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua.

Media planning to cover the upcoming Mexican National Team match against Nigeria can apply for media credentials using the online form by clicking HERE. The deadline to submit a credential application is Tuesday, May 21 at 2:00 p.m. CT. No credential applications will be accepted after the deadline.


Goalkeepers: Guillermo Ochoa (Ajaccio/FRA), Jesús Corona (Cruz Azul/MEX), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca/MEX)

Defender: Hiram Mier (Monterrey/MEX), Carlos Salcido (Tigres/MEX), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres/MEX),  Francisco Rodríguez (América/MEX), Diego Reyes (América/MEX), Héctor Moreno (Espanyol/SPA), Severo Meza (Monterrey/MEX)

Midfielders: Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul/MEX), Pablo Barrera (Cruz Azul/MEX), Jesús Zavala (Monterrey/MEX), Jesús Molina (América/MEX), Héctor Herrera (Pachuca/MEX), Javier Aquino (Villarreal/SPA), Andrés Guardado (Valencia/SPA), Ángel Reyna (Pachuca/MEX)

Forwards: Javier Hernández (Manchester United/ENG), Giovani Dos Santos (Mallorca/SPA), Oribe Peralta (Santos Laguna/MEX), Raúl Jiménez (América/MEX), Aldo De Nigris (Monterrey/MEX)

Head Coach: José Manuel de la Torre

Share This News