In the News

Press Releases

Mexico to Headline CONCACAF Gold Cup Doubleheader at Reliant Stadium July 9

NEW YORK — Mexico will return to Houston for the fourth time in the last three years when they square off against Panama in a CONCACAF Gold Cup doubleheader on Thursday, July 9 at Reliant Stadium. Guadeloupe and Nicaragua will play one another in the opening match of the evening. Guadeloupe and Nicaragua will kick off at 7:00 p.m. CDT, with the match between Mexico and Panama to follow at 9:00 p.m. CDT.

Mexico is seeking its record fifth CONCACAF Gold Cup championship and improve upon a runner-up finish in 2007, while Panama and Guadeloupe are looking to build on quarterfinal appearances in the 2007 tournament. All three teams played at Reliant Stadium in 2007. Nicaragua will make its debut in Houston.

Tickets will go on sale to the general public on Friday, April 17, through the Reliant Stadium box office and at all TicketMaster locations, including all Fiesta grocery stores in the Houston area.

Houston will look to continue a strong history of large, enthusiastic crowds. Reliant Stadium sold out first-round and quarterfinal double headers in 2007, and boasted the largest attendance figures in the tournament. In 2005, over 105,000 fans turned out for two days of matches at Reliant Stadium, making Houston the top market for the tournament. Houston’s attendance was 40% higher than any other venue for the tournament that year. Reliant Stadium has hosted the five largest soccer crowds in Texas history, including 70,103 for last year’s USA vs. Mexico match.

The Gold Cup, which has seen record attendances and television ratings in each of the past two competitions (2005 and 2007), will be played coast-to-coast at an unprecedented 13 venues this year.

“We’ve been successful in the past creating entertaining match-ups and I think this year will continue that tradition,” Blazer said.

Each group has at least one representative from CONCACAF’s three geographic regions: North America, Central America and the Caribbean.

The top two teams from each group advance to the quarterfinals along with the two best third-place teams.

The winners of Groups A & B will head to Philadelphia for their quarterfinals on July 18 while the Group C winner will play in Dallas the following day.

The winners of the Philadelphia quarterfinals will face off in one semifinal on 23 July in Chicago’s Soldier Field, and the Dallas quarterfinal winners will contest the other. The semifinal winners will meet for the title Sunday, 26 July in Giants Stadium.


  • GROUP A: Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Jamaica
  • GROUP B: Grenada, Haiti, Honduras, USA
  • GROUP C: Guadeloupe, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama


  • Thursday, July 9 – Houston (Reliant Stadium)
    • Guadeloupe vs. Nicaragua, 7 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)
    • Mexico vs. Panama, 9 p.m. (10 p.m. EDT)

For more information, please contact Texas Bowl media relations director Zac Emmons at 832-667-2220 or via email at Zac Emmons .


# # #

Share This News