In the News

Press Releases

Nigeria National Team Roster Announced

EPL stars highlight Nigeria National Team roster for May 31 match against Mexico in Houston

Chelsea’s Obi Mikel and Victor Moses called up; African champions preparing for FIFA Confederations Cup this summer

NEW YORK (Tuesday, May 14, 2013) – Nigerian National Team head coach Stephen Keshi today announced its 25-man roster for the upcoming international match against the Mexican National Team on Friday, May 31 (8:00 p.m. CT) at Reliant Stadium in Houston.

Nigeria, the current Africa Cup of Nations champion, is preparing for two World Cup Qualifying matches in June before traveling to Brazil to participate in the FIFA Confederations Cup. The Super Eagles will count on its English Premier League stars to lead the way, including Chelsea midfielders John Obi Mikel, and Victor Moses, one of the top wingers in European soccer.

In addition, Nigeria have called in two players based in the German Bundesliga, two from Serie A in Italy, two from the Scottish Premier League and two from the Portuguese Liga. Mexico is expected to release its roster in the coming days.

Tickets for the highly anticipated match in Houston, presented by Allstate, are available via, by calling 1-800-745-3000 and at all Houston-area Ticketmaster locations, including all Houston-area Fiesta stores. The Federación Mexicana de Fútbol invites fans to use their Visa cards.

Mexico and Nigeria have met three times with a 1-0-2 record in favor of Mexico. The two teams last met in October of 2007 in an international friendly, with the match ending in a 2-2 tie at the Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua.

Media planning to cover the upcoming Mexican National Team match against Nigeria can apply for media credentials using the online form by clicking HERE. The deadline to submit a credential application is Tuesday, May 21 at 2:00 p.m. CT. No credential applications will be accepted after the deadline.   


Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves/NGA), Austin Ejide (Hapoel/ISR), Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv/ISR)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves/NGA), Efe Ambrose (Celtic/SCO), Uwa Elderson Echiéjilé (Sporting de Braga/POR), Kenneth Omeruo (ASO Den Haag/NED), Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars/NGA), Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars/NGA), Francis Benjamin (Heartland F.C./NGA), Odunlami Kunle (Sunshine Stars FC/NGA)

Midfielders: John Obi Mikel (Chelsea/ENG), Victor Moses (Chelsea/ENG), Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio/ITA), John Ugochukwu (Academia de Coimbra/POR), Obinna Nwachukwu (Heartland/NGA), Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers/NGA), Michael Babatunde (Kryvbas Kryvyi/UKR), Reuben Gabriel (Kilmarnock/SCO)

Forwards: Joseph Akpala (SV Werder Bremen/GER), Aide Brown Ideye (FC Dynamo Kyiv/UKR), Anthony Ujah (FC Koln/GER), Nnamdi Oduamadi (Varese/ITA), Kalu Uche (Kasımpaşa Spor Kulübü /TUR), Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars F.C./NGA)

Head Coach: Stephen Keshi

Share This News