CFB Insider

At the midpoint of the season, the unbeaten teams are faltering.

And then there were two, but after this week, there will be just one.

The most significant development of the past weekend was TCU's victory against Oklahoma State in overtime by scoring 43-40 to go to the Big 12 Championship Game as the favorite. 

The Horned Frogs are one of two surviving Big 12 teams with an undefeated conference record and the only remaining Big 12 with an unblemished season record.

The Longhorns joined Kansas, Kansas State, and Baylor in close-quarters warfare with Iowa State, resulting in a 24-21 win for the Longhorns. 

Quinn Ewers and Xavier Worthy connected on a fourth-and-goal from the three-yard line to complete the game-winning drive for Texas, which covered 75 yards and scored the game-winning touchdown.

A lot of teams have struggled to move the ball against the Cyclones, but it is of more concern that a struggling Iowa State offense gained over 400 yards against Texas.

The Wildcats gained a position despite having a bye week, but Kansas continued to fall. 

Kansas has not been overpowering in Big 12 action, winning Oklahoma, and Iowa State by a combined total of eight points and pulling away from Texas Tech in a fourth-quarter tie.

The Crimson Tide lost against a stronger team for the first time after coming close in previous games (at Texas and home against Texas A&M). 

For the first time since 2006 and under Nick Saban's direction, that team was Tennessee, who ripped apart the Tide secondary with alarming ease as Bama racked up a Saban-record 17 penalties.

It is easy to assume that last weekend's action-packed games have made fans even more excited for week 8.

Eight teams in the polls, including four in the top 10, were defeated over the weekend's historic slate of games, causing a significant shakeup in the rankings this week.

Here's a look at the AP's Week 8 top 25 rankings.

1.  Georgia (31 1st-place votes)

2.  Ohio State (17)

3.  Tennessee (15)

4.  Michigan

5.  Clemson

6.  Alabama

7.  Ole Miss

8.  TCU

9.   UCLA

10.  Oregon

11.  Oklahoma State

12.  USC

13.  Wake Forest

14.  Syracuse

15.  Utah

16.  Penn State

17.  Kansas State

18.  Illinois

19.  Kentucky

20.  Texas